Hiding like an American Bittern

English: An American Bittern hiding in the Cat...

Hiding in the Cattails. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The American Bittern takes on an odd stance when spooked.  It stretches his body as thin as possible, extends its neck and tilts its head with beak pointed to the heavens. This stance can make it difficult to find as it blends with its usual habitat of marshy reeds. It can often go undetected.

There have been times when I wished I could disappear as well.  Times I’ve spoken in haste or anger, times I’ve done something I regretted, times I’ve had no desire except to disappear.

But we know He sees everything. We know “There is no deep shadow, no utter darkness, where evildoers can hide.” Job 34:21-23

And, so, we pray as David did in Psalm 51:8-10, “Hide your face from my sins and blot out all my iniquity.” Amen.

Share your thoughts

