Peregrine Power

Peregrine Falcon

Peregrine Falcon (Photo credit: sombraala)

One evening during a Caribbean cruise, I  wandered the top deck in the darkness of a late, spring night. Millions of stars formed my canopy. I welcomed the solitude after a busy shore excursion. A shadow crossed my path and above me I watched as a falcon circled in and out of the lights catching insect morsels.

Standing at the ship’s railing, I marveled as it swirled and dipped around me for several minutes. Suddenly, there was nearby whoosh and the falcon landed 4 feet from me. I held my breath. Couldn’t move. He turned to look at me, flicked his wings, blinked several times, and then with the grace of a ballerina, he swooped off and returned to feeding.

It was a close-up moment of God’s splendor, not to be forgotten.

This Peregrine falcon reminded me that God can be found, even 50 miles from shore, surrounded by water.

“Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence? If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there. If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me,  your right hand will hold me fast.” Ps. 139:7-10 (NIV)

Do you remember a moment of solitude where God showed His splendor?

Peregrine in flight

Share your thoughts

