Doggy Trust

Irish Setter

Irish Setter (Photo credit: pwcorgigirl)

I enjoyed my breakfast from the wicker chair on my back porch. A young man with two dogs came into view. A young soft-red Irish setter stood tall beside a jet-black teacup poodle. They were off leash but well behaved as they made discoveries in the grass. The poodle stepped slow, the speed of an elderly, arthritic animal. The setter stepped lighter, with the jaunt of a teenager. The relationship between the two dogs grabbed my attention. If the poodle wandered too far into the field, the setter would gently come alongside the poodle and edge the tiny dog back within an imaginary line it established. The poodle would lean into the setter’s legs with trust as if dependent on the setter’s guidance.

I wandered, was the poodle blind or was the setter filled with motherly instinct, or both?

Oh, how I pray my relationship with my Holy Father looks exactly like that. I pray that I lean on His strength, depend on His guidance and completely trust His every move for me. May I live Isaiah 12:2, “See, God has come to save me. I will trust in him and not be afraid. The LORD GOD is my strength and my song; he has given me victory.” (NIV)

2 comments

  1. Donna · · Reply

    Gail, I watched “Dogs in the City” last week and your lesson reminded me of the episode…there was a blind dog. What a great scripture…just printed it out to put on bathroom mirror.

    1. Haven’t seen that one but will check it out. I knew I wasn’t the only one who covered the bathroom mirror with scripture! I love standing in front of it and seeing God’s Word reflected around me. Thanks for visiting!

Share your thoughts

