Avoid the Bear

Polar Bears (Cubs), Arctic National Wildlife R...

Polar Bears, Arctic National Wildlife Refuge, Alaska (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

During warm Arctic months, polar bears don’t actively hunt. They wait until the ocean is frozen to efficiently reach their prey. Allowing their stomachs to reach empty makes them irritable. Waiting worsens their mood. As the males stalk the icy edge of their limited space, it’s no surprise they erupt into cranky fights with others.

As humans, we are sometimes the same. We don’t get what we want or expect and we’re irritated. Or worse, an answer doesn’t come as quickly as we think it should. We make a request of someone and they are slow to respond. We ask a question and a co-worker doesn’t respond the way we anticipate. Irritations can bring out the bear in all of us at times.

I’ve growled at God. I been cranky when He didn’t answer a prayer in the way I’d hoped or when He’s told me to wait. My irritation usually results in my questioning Him. Why not now? Or worse, I ignore Him for a few days until I’m done pouting.

Isaiah 40:31 calms the bear in me. “But those who trust in the LORD will find new strength. They will soar high on wings like eagles. They will run and not grow weary. They will walk and not faint.” (NIV) When my mood melts, I realize He has my best interest in His plans and always in the palm of His hand.

Do you recall a time you were irritated with God, only to find He answered with a far better plan that you requested?

Share your thoughts

