Hummingbird vs. Swan

English: Ruby-Throated Hummingbird

Ruby-Throated Hummingbird (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The Ruby-throated hummingbird has only 940 feathers, while the Tundra swan has 25,216 feathers, and God planned both just as they are. The hummer is 3-3.75 inches and the swan can grow to 58 inches tall.  The tiny hummer weights .1 ounce and the swan? 251.2 ounces. The long tongue of the Ruby-throat is equipped to scoop nectar from flowers while the swan forages with its head on the surface or just under the water to feed on aquatic vegetation.  Another difference? At 53 beats per second, the hummer can hover, go backwards and swiftly move forward. While the noise from the swan’s powerful wing beats gave it the previous name of “whistling swan.”

These two birds are just like the person sitting beside me–wonderfully knitted by the hands of God. With unique traits, personality and bodies, each of us is a unique contribution to this earth. God gave me with a heart and mind for the environment. The person beside me is an indoor person and would never consider hiking a woodland path. I wouldn’t cook a full meal every night, but she’s a wiz in the kitchen. I’m a single, white female who looks at the glass half full. She’s dark haired, married and usually first thinks about the worse-case

English: Tundra Swan, Cygnus columbianus, on B...

Tundra Swan, Cygnus columbianus, on Bear Island South Carolina (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

scenario when facing a challenge.

If every bird that flew into view was big and white, we’d become quickly bored when we saw a bird. As humans, it’d be no different. If each of us wore black every day, it would be a mundane world. Wouldn’t we be bored with all brunettes or all blondes?

Just like the hummer and the swan, God made us extraordinary.

For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them.” Psalm 139:13-16

What trait did God give you that you most appreciate? Do you have an individual passion for something that others wouldn’t consider for themselves?

4 comments

  1. Great reminder… and I learned some interesting facts. Win/Win! 🙂

    1. Thanks Jennifer. I agree that learning is always a win/win!

  2. On Thursday I made sure to fill all the feeders in my yard, in honor of St. Francis of Assisi, whose festival day it was. The birds were to celebrate. For some reason, the nectar-feeding bats did not raid the hummingbird feeders that night. They usually drain them dry, but Friday morning there was still plenty of sugar water left, several times the body weight of a hummingbird in each. I was watching two Anna’s hummingbirds that morning. Male hummingbirds are often extremely aggressive, but these were females. What I saw could be summed up: Two hummingbirds, three feeders, no peace. Instead of each taking a feeder, they spent all their time chasing each other off of them, tails flared, chip-chip-chip-chip-chip. We can be just the same. God came that we might have life, and have it abundantly. All we need has been provided, but instead we spend our time chasing each other around, competing for what we need, not realizing there’s enough.

    1. Yet, there’s an abundance in His plan. How blessed we are and how blessed these hummers are that you provide for them. Love those Anna’s!

Share your thoughts

