Is Your Life Willy-Nilly?

Sea Bass 9740

Sea Bass 9740 (Photo credit: mliu92)

At Anacapa Island off the coast of California is an ancient bed of Giant Sea Kelp.  Like a scene from Jack and the Beanstalk, a single kelp stalk can be 175 feet high. This fast-growing algae (up to 2 feet a day) appears to float willy-nilly with the movement of the tides and the motions of frolicking sea lions. But it is grounded by a “holdfast” at the ocean bottom sand and rocks.

There are days when it may appear that I’m floating around, at the whims of world. I’ve had morning when nothing seems to go the way I expected? Happy experiences have brought me to tears. In a day, I can weave between many emotions.

What prevents me from going awry?  My holdfast. The Living God who grounds me as I go through the emotional ups and downs of the day. No matter what the world casts into my earthly pond, I hold fast to His eternal promises.

giant sea bass among giant kelp

giant sea bass among giant kelp (Photo credit: jenly)

“It is the LORD your God you must follow, and him you must revere. Keep his commands and obey him; serve him and hold fast to him.” Deuteronomy 13:4 (NIV)

What event rocked your world but didn’t shake your stand?

Share your thoughts

