Are you an Ostrich?

Ostrich

Ostrich (Photo credit: eirikm)

The ostrich is the largest bird alive today. It stands 8 ft tall, weights 290 lbs.  Unlike their portrayed in many cartoons, they don’t bury their heads in the sand.  If approached by an enemy while on her nest, the female presses her long neck flat on the ground to be less obvious. I’ve done the same.

When I’ve felt a confrontation growing, one option was to shrink back from a conversation. Instead of disagreeing with a false statement, I’ve sat back and let someone else handle the truth. My friends and family will vouch that I can be opinionated, but in a crowd of strangers or acquaintances, I might not express what I believe if I fear reprisal or felt threatened, physically or verbally.

Yet, when we stand on the Word of God, our Lord encourages us to stand firm, be bold and fear not. The phrase “do not be afraid” or a form of it is used more than 365 times in the Bible. I would say it must be mighty important to heed.

“Don’t be afraid, for I am with you. Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will hold you up with my victorious right hand.”  Isaiah 41:10  (New Living Translation)

When we speak Truth, we need to exude our confidence in Him and not shrink or shy away from a possible difference of opinion. Standing on His ways and doctrine provides not only freedom but a firm foundation. And, standing firm may allow the other person or group of persons to reconsider their position.

When’s the last time you wanted to press your neck to the wall and disappear instead of speaking boldly and standing on His Truth?

Related articles

2 comments

  1. Oh my goodness, Gail. I’ve pressed my neck to the ground, into the shadows, and around the corner so many times. “Let someone else take the heat” has raced through my thought processes during my earlier years. But now is the time we must speak God’s truth to those difficult issues, because “truth has stumbled in the streets.” If we can’t speak His truth to friends how do we think we will be able to stand when times really get tough?

    1. Amen, Diane! We were all born for such a time as this, not just to speak truth to friends, but to the non-believing we come in contact with as we venture out our front doors.

Share your thoughts

