Are You Flying Blind?

English: A Masked owl Tyto novaehollandiae, ta...

English: A Masked owl Tyto novaehollandiae, taken at a Traveling Raptor flight display in south-eastern Australia (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Even in complete darkness, a barn owl‘s can hear well enough to catch prey without using its vision.

When I’m boggled down by change or challenge, when life seems to dark to have desire, when a situation seems too dark to have hope, am I blinded by the lies of Satan?  Isaiah 42:7 tells us that Christ came to earth as a man  “to open eyes that are blind, to free captives from prison and to release from the dungeon those who sit in darkness.”

When I stumble in the darkness and think I’m imprisoned by my struggles, I have a choice to make–focus on my challenge and remain blind or believe my plight is in His hands, and ultimately, for His glory.

When cancer struck me a second time before I was 40, I could have easily chosen to wallow in self-pity. But instead, I gave it to God, believing His plan was just, trusting Him to guide me either to full recovery or to full glory in His presence.

What challenge is in front of you and what choice will you make? Will you be blind or choose to see the Truth and Hope of Christ?

Related articles

One comment

  1. Gail, you are right-on. Our natural tendency is to slide through life led by our feelings and emotions, instead of choosing to trust God. For everything. Even as Christians I don’t think we can get our mind rapped around the knowledge and understanding that God is involved in every area of our life. Jesus tells us, “We have not, because we ask not.” It’s easier to remain blind, though we wouldn’t admit that.

    DiAne

Share your thoughts

