Do you Skylark in the Shower?

Skylark

Skylark (Photo credit: Sergey Yeliseev)

In order to attract a mate, the Skylark elevates itself skyward and sings a melody composed of more than 300 syllables, a jumble of beauty to hear. When the Skylarks  gather on breeding habitat, it becomes obvious why a flock is termed an “exaltation” of larks.

The word exalt appears more than 150 times in the Bible, often referring to a song. King Solomon was a prolific song writer. 1 Kings 4:32 tells us, “He spoke three thousand proverbs and his songs numbered a thousand and five.” King David must have inherited his love of music because celebrations in his kingdom often included instruments and songs of praise.

Unlike these Kings of old, I do not possess an ability to write songs, and I most definitely don’t consider myself to have a voice worth sharing. But no where does the Bible claim that David had a wonderful, marvelous voice. And, for that I’m glad.

I may not produce the melody of a skylark, but as I raise my voice to praise His holy name, I keep Psalm 34:3 in mind. “Glorify the LORD with me; let us exalt his name together.” I sometimes hesitate to sing outside the privacy of my shower, but then recall, Judges 5:3, “I, even I, will sing to the LORD; I will praise the LORD, the God of Israel, in song.”

Share your thoughts

