How do birds not fall off a limb when sleeping?

How do they do it? How do birds never fall off perches, even when sleeping? They have tendons down the back of their legs that extend into their feet. These tendons tighten as soon as a leg bends, gripping the branch securely. Ready to fly? Straighten the leg and the grip loosens and they are able to leap into the air.

English: A Chestnut-mandibled Toucan (Ramphast...

Chestnut-mandibled Toucan  (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I wish my grip to the Heavenly Father worked the same. When I’m bending off His chosen path for me, I’d like an automatic gripper. It usually doesn’t take long before I notice I’m not holding on as tight as I want. I grab hold once again and perch as close to Him as possible.

Joshua 23:8  “But you are to hold fast to the LORD your God, as you have until now.”

Deutsch: Schläfrige Schneeeule (Bubo scandiacu...

Snowy Owl (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

2 comments

  1. Love this post, Gail. The clutter of everyday life has pressed in hard the past few months. I find the moment my feet hit the floor in the morning it’s non-stop with the seemingly urgent things. It’s so easy to be pulled from my perch by His side. Thank you for the reminder and the verse.

    DiAne

    1. Praying God clears the clutter and you find His peace amidst the busyness.

Share your thoughts

