What fetal folds do you have?

The blow of a blue whale

The blow of a blue whale (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A baby Blue whale can be up to 18’ long when it is born. Because of its size, it must eat continuously in order to mature. For the first seven months the babe is nursed by its mother, gaining 200 pounds per day and growing 1 inch per day.  When the baby is born, it retains its fetal folds. Fetal folds are areas where the skin doubles over until it has stretched and filled out during its first few months of living.

At the beginning of a Believer’s journey, whether 9 years old or 90, the faith walk can be like a Blue whale. Hungry for the Word, the Believer wants to be fed continuously to satisfy the appetite for God’s truth. As the heart and soul of a Believer fills with God’s Word, the fetal folds of our faith stretch, growing our relationship with God and maturing our beliefs and actions.

Challenges stretch us.

I’ve faced many stretch opportunities in my life.

  • Surviving the untimely death of a sibling
  • Fighting cancer
  • The unexpected loss of my best friend

Without holding on to God’s redeeming love, it would have been easy give in to doubts and fears. My mustard seed faith kept my eyes focused forward. Each event developed my faith, teaching me that He is the God who sustains me, who never lets go and who has the plan I cannot fully fathom.

 David also said to Solomon his son, “Be strong and courageous, and do the work. Do not be afraid or discouraged, for the Lord God, my God, is with you. He will not fail you or forsake you until all the work for the service of the temple of the Lord is finished.” 1 Chronicles 28:20 (NIV)

In your life, what has stretched your faith?

One comment

  1. my life and faith has been stretched to the limit at times, and I gladly bear the marks- because they are evidence of God’s loving touch and of Him growing more in me. Thanks for the analogy.

Share your thoughts

