What Cancer did for me

Nests of Social Weaver Philetairus socius

Nests of Social Weaver  (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Weavers are a family of birds that build various sizes of nests with entry holes facing downward. The Sociable Weaver’s nest may weight up to 1 ton. 1 ton.  Imagine it! To really appreciate all the variations of weaver’s nests, visit Amazing photos 

When I see a weaver’s nest, I think of my life. Each event, each person I meet, each day I live weaves a story that tells of God’s glory.

English: A large nest structure of the Sociabl...

English: A large nest structure of the Sociable Weaver in Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park, South Africa (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Just like you, there are things I’d rather have avoided, times I would have preferred to not have gone through. But if I hadn’t, would I know God as completely? Would I cling as tight to Him as I do?

There’s not much about cancer that is “enjoyable.” But there are lessons to be learned.

  • Cancer gave me a more compassionate heart
  • Cancer gave me a tighter trust on God
  • Cancer gave me downtime (After months of chemo, I would move from bed to the couch, couch to the bed)
  • Cancer gave me awareness of how blessed I am
  • Cancer gave me a joy for life I didn’t completely possess before
  • Cancer gave me the opportunity to be a witness for God’s glory

Now, I can’t imagine who I would be if God hadn’t woven cancer into my life.

What’s woven into your life story that wasn’t pleasant? What did you learn?
Many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the LORD’s purpose that prevails. Proverbs 19:21 (NIV)

Watch a weaver nest being built

One comment

  1. very good perspective showing how God can turn around situations for His glory.

Share your thoughts

