Aliens Among Them

There is a spider that lives under water. That seems so wrong. Yet God made it right by giving the Diving Bell Spider the ability to create a bubble that acts as a lung. Because of the bubble, the spider is able to breathe underwater.

Pair of Diving bell spiders (♀ left, ♂ right),...

Pair of Diving bell spiders (♀ left, ♂ right), in aquarium at Wien Prater park in Vienna, Austria.  (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Exodus 23:8-10 reminds us that as Believers we are aliens on this earth. Stick with me. I’m not talking about little green men. This is a sci-fi free zone.

Believers often just don’t fit. More and more when I’m in public, I find myself wary of those around me. When did cursing become publicly acceptable? In restaurants, in stores, and dare I say it, in church. Yes, even there, words slip like a greased pig.

Last week at lunch, I told a companion that I’d like to change tables. I wasn’t comfortable sitting next to a group of adults where every other word made me cringe. Thankfully, she felt the same.

We walked up to the hostess stand with our menus in hand. When I asked the young woman to move us, she asked if there was a problem. When I told her (nicely) that I wasn’t comfortable with the language being used by the people at the next table, she stared at me. After a few seconds of silence, she sighed and lead us to another table without a word.

I felt like a foreigner in a strange land. The unacceptable has become acceptable. The acceptable is shunned. And, like Job, I wonder, How long, Lord, will you look on? Rescue me from their ravages, my precious life from these lionsPsalm 35:16-18

There are times I long for Jesus to open Heaven’s door and welcome me. A place of peace. A place of goodness. A place of mercy. A place I will be at Home.

Do not oppress a foreigner; you yourselves know how it feels to be foreigners, because you were foreigners in Egypt. Exodus 23:8-10

2 comments

  1. Amen- how I wish I could be that spider and blow a bubble around me! Good for you for standing up to your beliefs. I was waiting to get my car serviced and the TV was blasting a talk show with a subject I found offensive. After a few minutes I asked the other three people in the room if I could turn it off. All of them said yes, and thank you. So I got the auto tech to locate the remote and click it off. Sometimes we just have to. . .

  2. What a timely post, Gail. God told us this time would arrive and I don’t know why we’re surprised, but we are. ‘Bout all I watch on TV are the cooking shows and Fox News. Oh and the Inspiration channel. John Boy Walton never makes me uncomfortable. But we are aliens here, lest we forget.

    DiAne

Share your thoughts

